Update on Books

In spite of my not writing much, I have been reading much. I feel this pressure to cram in as much reading as possible before the nice weather comes and I relegate reading to an “after the kids go to bed” activity. Once the weather turns nice in Niagara, we are outside as much as possible. But for now…this is what we woke up to today…

DSC_0406

Pretty, yes. Enjoyable…in late March…no.

I have about 5 trays of seeds that I’ve been starting in the window and I am filled with excitement watching them grow, knowing that in a few short weeks they’ll be in the ground, which means, I’ll be outside…in the garden. So as excited as I am to get my hands dirty, I am reading as much as humanly possible.

February and March 2015 396

I have finished…

Table Grace – Douglas Webber

Favourite quote: “Jesus invited more people to lunch than He did to the synagogue.”

This small book is packed with biblical insights on hospitality and illuminates God as the host for true fellowship with us. Honestly, I won’t be lending this one out simply because I don’t want it to be out of my reach. There are so many thoughtful insights that I need to go back and read it again and again. Especially as this seasons recurring theme for me is hospitality and the Lord’s table.

Raptureless – Jonathon Welton

Favourites:   Chapter 5 – the Elements, the earth and the land; Chapter 8 – the fulfillment of the covenants; Chapter 10 – The Kingdom without Wrath

um… all I can say is that it blew my mind, more than once. I feel like I’ve been anchored right back into the proper understanding of God’s plan, you know, the big picture. There were so many things that just never made sense to me about the end times, the judgements, God’s wrath and grace…the ages, etc….For the longest time I avoided it and just figured that blind faith in the goodness of God would keep me in the clear (and I still believe that’s true) – but I also have found that our faith can grow as we seek truth and answers and clarity. This book pointed me to teachers like Sproul, Chilton, N.T. Wright, Charles Spurgeon, Matthew Henry, Josephus and others, as well as the biblical narrative itself in providing the most simple answers, that after the fact, I wondered how we’ve all missed it for so long? Now, I can be truly optimistic about the future, not in the escapist view or in the blind acceptance view, but in the view that believers held for centuries before the western church was polluted with a very strange set of teachings on eschatology. My advice, read it and then we’ll talk.

Cold Tangerines – Shauna Niequist

Fav Quotes: “Life with God at its core is about giving your life up to something bigger and more powerful. It’s about saying at every turn that God knows better then we know, and that His Spirit will lead us in ways that we couldn’t have predicted.”

“Everything is an interim. Everything is a path or a preparation for the next thing, and we never know what the next thing is.”

The second of her books I’ve read. This one took a day. Not because it’s simple or fluffy – but because I identify. With her and with her writing style. I ended up filling up several pages of a journal with ideas for my own writing. She inspires me to write.

Next Up:                Blood, Bones and Butter – Gabrielle Hamilton.

I joined a cooking club, and one of the members told me this is a must read, so I must read it…next.

The Best Yes – Lysa Terkeurst

A couple good friends recommended it, so it’s next after that.

Finally, our local Book OUtlet had a warehouse box sale – $30 and fill a big box with any books you find.  Great if you can handle the crowds, the dust and the vast tables covered helter skelter with every kind of book you can think of, in no particular order at all. I walked away with scads of books for the kids and a few treasures for myself, like…

The Princes of Ireland – Vol 1 – Rutherford

A History of the World in 6 Glasses – Tom Standage

The Divine Romance – Gene Edwards

Christ in the Passover – Cecil & Moishe Rosen

ReFocus – Jim Daly

The Everyday Writer – Andrea Lunsford

The Organic Gardener’s Handbook of Natural Pest and Disease Control

Edible, A Celebration of Local Foods – Tracey Ryder and Carole Topalian

Taste of Home Bakeshop Favourites

Dinner and a Movie – Katherine Bebo

As you can see, my list just keeps getting longer – but I’m perfectly ok with that. What are you reading?

 

Leave a Reply

